Sunday Profile: Kale

Happy Sunday everyone!

I wanted to start a new thing on this blog which is the Sunday Profile. I’d like to do a profile of a certain food every Sunday. Honestly, this gives me a way to educate myself on food. It’s not knowledge I already have; it will require research on my part. The idea came from someone asking me what’s so great about chia seeds. I knew that chia seeds were an amazing superfood, but didn’t exactly know why. So I’ll use some of my favourite websites and resources to learn a bit more about food…and hopefully it will be fun :)

So today’s Sunday profile is KALE.

Source

Here’s what I already know about kale: it’s a dark leafy green vegetable and therefore must be healthy. It grows a lot and people with gardens complain about how much kale they have. Kale chips are really, really yummy. I’ve heard people say you need to be careful about how you prepare it, or it will be bitter.

Here’s what I’ve learned after doing some research:

History 

Kale has been cultivated for over 2000 years and was popular in the Roman times and Medieval Period. It was introduced to North America in the 17th century. It is packed full of antioxidants (antioxidants is one of the words that you know is a good thing, but may not know what it means. According to one website, it says they neutralize harmful free radicals in the body).

Family Tree

Belongs to the same family as cabbage, Brussels sprouts and collards.

Nutritional Stats 

  • 1 cup of raw kale provides more than 100% of your daily value of Vitamin K, A and C
  • It also contains lutein which helps keep your eyes healthy
  • 1 cup of raw kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fibre, 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and Vitamin B6, and 40% of the daily requirement of magnesium
  • It is also a good source of: iron, phosphorus, manganese, potassium, and copper

Other Cool Stuff

  • Comes in a variety of colours: green, white, blueish green, or purple
  • Varieties include curly, ornamental, or dinosaur
  • It seems to be especially amazing when raw because it may lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of heart disease
  • It is high in Vitamin K and therefore reduces the risk of developing or dying from cancer, and also helps with other bodily functions such as blood clotting and bone health
  • HOWEVER, webmd cautions that you talk to your doctor first because a diet high in Vitamin K may interfere with anticoagulants such as warfarin
  • It also may interfere with the absorption of calcium
  • It has strong anti-inflammatory properties

Recipes

Check out this post on how to cook kale perfectly by the Fanatic Cook

Here is another post on how to make kale less bitter

Here are some recipes, I haven’t personally tried them but they do look good!

Something to think about: What is your favourite way to eat/cook kale? Or, do you avoid it like the plague and choose other greens instead?

Another new addition to the blog -> You can now follow me on twitter! I just joined, so be patient as I learn about this whole new world ;)

 

*Please note I am not a doctor or dietician; check with your doctor before making any changes to your diet.

Sources

Eight Healthy Facts about Kale

The Truth About Kale

Foods with Vitamin K & Health Benefits

About alijanine

I'm a university student about to graduate in two different programs. My blog documents how I'm handling this stage of my life, how I maintain my fitness, and how I'm incorporating more healthy foods into my life!
This entry was posted in Sunday Profile, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Profile: Kale

  1. I found this recipe the other day for yam and kale salad: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-yam-and-kale-salad/detail.aspx It combines two superfoods, yay! (One day can you write about yams and/or sweet potatoes? Is there a difference? I just know the bright orange is good for me!) I checked out two markets and a regular grocery store and sadly kale was nowhere to be found! I ended up substituting spinach for kale because I have sweet potatoes to use up. I also added mushrooms, zucchini, and peppers and ate it warm with balsamic vinegar (I don’t have red wine vinegar). Anywho, just thought I’d share :)
    oooh I bet broccoli would taste alright too!

  2. Jodie Schick says:

    Just had kale last night!

Leave a Reply

